Lettuce

GardenForums.com a friendly and growing community of gardeners. We feature a Garden Discussion Forum and Garden Photo Gallery. It's a fun and friendly place to talk with other gardeners, ask questions, share you knowledge, view and post photos and more! Whether you're a master gardener, or brand new to the hobby, you'll find something of interest here.

Gloria

Super Moderator
Staff member
Anyone plant lettuce? This is my first attempt. They're doing great!:D

Attachments

• lettuce.jpg
    lettuce.jpg
    153.7 KB · Views: 303

myfedora

Now that we are putting a fence around our garden I am going to try lettuce heads. Last year I tried leaf lettuce and it was so bitter! Not sure what I did wrong.

Dale

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gloria I usually plant the Mesclin mix of the different leaf lettuces. You did a great job growing the lettuce.

Gloria

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dale I'll have to try the mix! I tried Red Sails last year but wasn't happy with it. ther was another I tried but I gave up on both. These are doing good for me! Hope my toms, cucs and peppers catch up with the lettuce..I love a good salad!!!

Randy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Myfedora, I don't have an answer, but my guess is that it wasn't picked soon enough. But it would be a good idea to ask one of the experts at your county extension office about it or maybe one of the other buckeyes here can chime in. My wife is a buckeye (Mansfield) but she doesn't know anything about gardening.

Gloria

Super Moderator
Staff member
cabbage and onions

I forgot...my cabbage and red onions..

Attachments

• cabbage.jpg
    cabbage.jpg
    159.9 KB · Views: 304
  • onions.jpg
    onions.jpg
    147.1 KB · Views: 293

Mainegal

Super Moderator
Staff member
i've got to get my lettuce planted, will try some spinach again this yr if it doesn't do well then i won't try again. i had no luck last yr with it

richnkim