Recent content by gardening

GardenForums.com a friendly and growing community of gardeners. We feature a Garden Discussion Forum and Garden Photo Gallery. It's a fun and friendly place to talk with other gardeners, ask questions, share you knowledge, view and post photos and more! Whether you're a master gardener, or brand new to the hobby, you'll find something of interest here.

1. G

What's the best way to get Acorns to Sprout?

I have been planting acorns for two years now. I collect them - keep the good ones - toss the bad ones to the squirrels. I throw them all in a bucket of water overnight. The ones that float - I throw away. I plant the remaining acorns 4" - 6" in planters (August-November) and wait till the...
  2. G

Easter lily question

I found my Easter lily peeping through the soil at me this week. It appears to have multiplied as it has three different green shoots forming.
  3. G

Shasta Daisy - Alaska

Well, I'll have to check my sunshine. A few are in partly sunny spots and those are quite small. Others are in full sunshine. Maybe, I'll have to transplant a few that are in part sun to better sunlight. *Do you think I should do this now or wait until fall again?
  4. G

Yea!!!! My Iris

I only have three Iris - and they are newly planted this past fall. 2 Siberian and 1 Japanese Iris. They are almost 3" tall right now. I hope to see them flower!
  5. G

Columbine

I have planted a few packets in planters and covered them slightly. I did this prior to posting here, unfortunatly and have also broadcast a few more packets in a sunny spot. Most agree here that if my columbine matures that it MAY not bloom until next year......but.....we'll see! Thanks :)
  6. G

Columbine