Recent content by RiverDog

GardenForums.com a friendly and growing community of gardeners. We feature a Garden Discussion Forum and Garden Photo Gallery. It's a fun and friendly place to talk with other gardeners, ask questions, share you knowledge, view and post photos and more! Whether you're a master gardener, or brand new to the hobby, you'll find something of interest here.

1. R

Greeting Cards you Can PlaNT

I would think so too Jade....hmmmm. Maybe it would'nt if you quick dried though. I would be alittle worried to let them set overnight in the wet paper.
  2. R

Too Late For Onions?

Cool, glad to hear it. How deep should I mix in the compost? I was thinking 2ft' should be good enough. Should I fertilize at all or just let the compost do it's thing and water as needed? Is it ok to plant lettuce or cabbage along side the onions? Are these enough questions? :rolleyes...
  3. R

Too Late For Onions?

I have never done onions before, but I planted some Scallions after the frost. Now the wife wants me to plant some red and yellow onions. I fear it may be too late in the year to start them now. I'm in central Florida and I believe you are supposed to plant them in or around Dec. here. Is it too...
  4. R

Yea!!!!! my birds are back

Nice birds!! Always nice to have something to watch while sitting in the yard. We did feed some squirrels for awhile, then they started to tear into my screened back porch :mad: So we stopped feeding them and they have all moved on. I have seen 2 Woodpeckers so far this year. One is a big one...
  5. R

Spider anyone????

That is a jumping spider, you can tell by the metallic looking fangs. I've seen some that are an inch and a half long. Eucalyptus is great for keeping spiders and some other insects to a minimal, they hate it. Or do like me and get one of these guys to stand guard in your garden. ;) As you can...
  6. R

Have you seen this before?