my lettuce needs help!

GardenForums.com a friendly and growing community of gardeners. We feature a Garden Discussion Forum and Garden Photo Gallery. It's a fun and friendly place to talk with other gardeners, ask questions, share you knowledge, view and post photos and more! Whether you're a master gardener, or brand new to the hobby, you'll find something of interest here.

tommycs

this is my first time with a veggie garden, and I've been told numerous times to get my lettuce in early, so I did. I have 8 plants in and they have been doing quite well until I went out one day and noticed I only had 7 plants and a stub of what was once a lettuce plant. After looking into it I realized it was definitely the work of one of the many groundhogs that live on my property. In the past I've tried trapping them and they are seemingly endless. I'd estimate I have at least 20 or 30 living on my 8 acres. I don't have a gun nor would I like to shoot them, and like I said the trapping doesn't seem to work. I apologize if theres already a post about this but what do you think of one of those motion activates sprinklers? a little pricy but if it's going to keep out the groundhogs it might be worth it in the long run so I can enjoy my lettuce.
Oh and by the way, I'm tom and live in NJ, hoping to yield a pretty good tomato crop this year long as I can find a fix for these darn groundhogs!... and this one of the groundhogs I trapped and relocated last year vv
photo_16.jpg

Last edited:
Hey Tom! Welcome to our forum!
I'd suggest that you enclose your veggie garden with fencing to help keep the ground hogs out!
You will need the bury the fece a good foot underground because the hogs will burrow under the fence if they are determined to get into the garden!