CedarLast Makeover: Seed Starting

GardenForums.com a friendly and growing community of gardeners. We feature a Garden Discussion Forum and Garden Photo Gallery. It's a fun and friendly place to talk with other gardeners, ask questions, share you knowledge, view and post photos and more! Whether you're a master gardener, or brand new to the hobby, you'll find something of interest here.

G

gscadmin

[Editor’s note: This is the second in a series of three posts from Carrie Bettencourt about her backyard makeover. Read the first post describing the makeover project. Read the about third post about installation day.]

raised-bed-salad-1.jpg

I am not an expert on seed starting, but I am a total convert to the process. So much so that I envision myself starting seeds year-round now — nothing like going from zero to all in! Don’t get me wrong, I have started seeds in the past, but I gave it a half-hearted effort and had mixed results.

seedlings-growease1.jpg

Carrie started most of her plants from seed.

So what brought on this change of heart and action? It started when I began testing new raised beds from Gardener’s Supply Company. The raised beds were arriving in January and Gardener’s wanted me to photograph the beds, with plants, in mid February.

February? Ummmmm… Here in warm southern California, that’s too late for a true winter garden and too early for a spring garden. So what’s a girl to do but start some seeds and try to fool Mother Nature a little — a task that’s doable in our climate. Once I made the decision to give it a go, it turned out to be a pretty fun way to be in the gardening game in December.

Light matters. I started by reading the “how to” article on seed starting on the Gardener’s website. That and other research convinced me that I needed a grow light to really give this a shot. Yes, it’s warm here and the sun shines most days. But a grow light would give me the ability to:

• Control the light level, no matter the weather.