Corn in Connecticut (first time)

GardenForums.com a friendly and growing community of gardeners. We feature a Garden Discussion Forum and Garden Photo Gallery. It's a fun and friendly place to talk with other gardeners, ask questions, share you knowledge, view and post photos and more! Whether you're a master gardener, or brand new to the hobby, you'll find something of interest here.

whelan

I've been waiting for this for awhile now. I picked up some Sweet Corn Seeds this past week and want to try it out.

I have grass over the area currently and want to know any tips, hints, expectations, etc. I am new to gardening and would love any help offered. So far I plan to rent a tiller to turn the grass and then get some bagged soil and composte/manure to prep. However I am not entirely sure when I should start doing that, how much space is needed for each stalk, how long the growing season is, when to plant, and on and on.

I'm quite ambitious as you can see so please pour in and help out.

Thanks!

Corn can be planted when the soil warms up to 50 degrees or warmer. The seed packet tells you to plant seeds a couple of inches apart and then thin them to 12" apart. I plant my seeds 12" apart and put a couple of seeds in at each point. Then I thin out one of the plants if both seeds germinate. I like to have 3 or 4 feet between rows so they are easy to walk between, but you can also put a couple of rows 12" apart and then leave 4 feet between each pair of rows. That gives easy access to both rows for picking or maintenance. In the farms though, the rows are about 18" apart. But the corn is harvested by machine so walking between the rows does not apply. For one of those mechanical pickers, the farmer can pick over seven tons of corn in an hour. I had a chance to ride in one a couple of years ago and it was quite impressive. For good pollination though, you should have at least four rows of corn.